[Day 1] The perk of playing with easiness on Duolingo

Let me retell the story of yesterday in a much funnier tone and mood.

As you might know, Duolingo is a language hub for everyone who would like to learn the most of the 2nd language besides their mother tongue. As with a solid foundation of English proficiency, I used to spend some time studying another language, which was French, on the app (besides its website) in my first year of college. Yesterday, which was today based on the flow of story I had written yesterday, a friend of mine asked me to help his mother’s friend complete a series of English-for-beginners tests on Duolingo. So what do you think? “Gosh, easy as hell”, said myself. From this way, however, the story turned out to be so much different.

The rule of the quiz is that you only have three lives, and no more, to survive despite the fact that the number of questions increases as the level of difficulties rises. So, CHALLENGE ACCEPTED!

For the first two rounds, I managed to make it once through the test quite easily although I almost resumed the game because of losing all of three lives. But that was okay, not to the point of stressing me out utterly hard. Then when it came to the third round, the quiz was still not too challenging but I failed once, twice and three times. I started to lose my patience and give way to fuel my anger as the time went by. The number of failures thus continued to increase as I rushed into finishing the test and resumed the game over and over again afterwards.

So, here are the points that freaked me out intensively from the test:

  1. It asked for a completely correct answer. Take the translation question for example: when it required me translate “she is sending a letter”, I typically wrote down “cô ấy đang gửi thư”. It hit me wrong because of the lack of the word “một” as a parallel for “a” in the original sentence. Another one was “he is going to his university”, which I translated into “anh ấy đang đi đến trường đại học anh ấy”. WRONG!!! I fotgot the word “của” as the possessive word for “his university”. Those were fine. It even got worse when I got this one: “What is thư viện in English?”. My answer was “the library”, but it turned out to be false because the word “the” should not have been there. So, YOU GOT ME, didn’t you? Those little mistakes really knew how to get on my nerves.
  2. I only got that fcking only three lives although the number of questions keep increasing. The first round had only 15 questions, the second 20, which seemed not really bad, but the third hit me with 25 (or maybe more than that). Nonetheless, it seriously offered only and only 3 lives to survive the freaking tricky things on the test. This rule was what that fueled my anger and hastiness to finish the test as soon as possible as I did not want to waste so much time on the freaking easy thang. Yet the more I hurried, the more I had to resume, which raised the number of playing over and over to 7 or 8.

The mental damage remained, even though I managed to win the game after 8 times of resumes.

Lessons learnt:

  • Follow the rules of the game unless you want to lose. In life, this works too (but depends).
  • Try to remain calm after a number of failures. You will not know how far you will lose.
  • Sometimes, it’s a matter of luck. Losing all the lives in the game before finishing doesn’t mean you might end up resuming it. Pray for a little luck (but not too much tho).

Day 1 went so so fine (to be honest it was Day 2 which rewrote Day 1 to be better after the boring words I jotted down last night, but hell yeah still the story of Day 1, so!)

Leave a Reply

